• Kelly L

May 22, 2016 at 10:44 am

Thanks everyone. Great feedback from all. Sorry it took so long to respond. I lost my password like 6 times and making a new one is like trying to crack the code for the cia haha.
    I myself in the past have been guilty of this, treating one of my dogs like a little human. It was the worst and best mistake I’ve ever made. The particular dog is still with me at the moment and has become one of my greatest accomplishments. Our bond is so tight I have no words to describe. I did everything so wrong with him. I felt sorry for him, for the breed he was, for the disgusting abuse he went through as a little pup. I allowed him to do anything and I babied him to the point of him lunging at my then 9 year old son. If it wasn’t for my reaction time, I do not want to think of what would of happened to my son. I still made excuses as to why he did this. I was a behaviorist a trainer I had the answers! My brain was flooded with emotions for this dog, I couldn’t think clearly and believe me I had every excuse for him. Then, I met Mike. When I told him what he had done, Mike told me to consider putting him down. He was dangerous. The emotional side of me disliked Mike for a few days. The rational behaviorist side knew he was being honest and basically telling me, I’ve destroyed my dog. I cried for 3 days like a wimp. I did all the wrong things for 3 days. I hugged my dog, I cried on him. I held on to him for dear life, I made the call and the appointment to put him down. I honestly thought I was going to have a nervous break down. The 3rd night, the night before the dreaded appointment as I layed in my bed hugging this dangerous, aggressive massive dog, reality set it. I was told that I literally loved this dog to his death. I did! And I still do! I thought of my kids , if one of my kids were to slap me or tell me to F off , the consequences would be pretty damn high! So why was I not loving this dog enough to teach him respect and boundaries?